found: 157 books on 11 pages. This is page 7
Previous page - Next page

 
Kurtz, Donn M.
Kinship and Politics : the justices of the United States and Louisiana Supreme Courts.
Baton Rouge Louisiana State University Press,1996. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. xviii,249 pp. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. ISBN 9780807120644.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #131075
€  13.50 [Appr.: US$ 14.35 | £UK 11.75 | JP¥ 2213]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Larsen, Lawrence H.
Federal Justice in Western Missouri. The Judges, the Cases, the Times.
Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1994. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. xiv. 285 pp. Index. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. ISBN 9780826209733.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #130398
€  15.00 [Appr.: US$ 15.94 | £UK 13 | JP¥ 2459]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Leahy, James E.
Supreme Court Justices who voted with the government : nine who favored the state over individual rights.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 1999. Orig. cloth binding. Vii, 373 p. ; ill. ; 24 cm. Includes index. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. ISBN 9780786405473.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #177604
€  15.00 [Appr.: US$ 15.94 | £UK 13 | JP¥ 2459]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Levinson, Sanford.
Framed: America's 51 Constitutions and the Crisis of Governance.
Oxford & New York. Oxford University Press, 2012. Hardcover. Dustjacket. 448 pp.- In his widely acclaimed volume Our Undemocratic Constitution, Sanford Levinson boldly argued that our Constitution should not be treated with sanctimonious reverence, but as a badly flawed document deserving revision. Now Levinson takes us deeper, asking what were the original assumptions underlying our institutions, and whether we accept those assumptions 225 years later. In Framed, Levinson challenges our belief that the most important features of our constitutions concern what rights they protect. Instead, he focuses on the fundamental procedures of governance such as congressional bicameralism; the selection of the President by the electoral college, or the dimensions of the President's veto power--not to mention the near impossibility of amending the United States Constitution. These seemingly settled and hardwired structures contribute to the now almost universally recognized dysfunctionality of American politics. Levinson argues that we should stop treating the United States Constitution as uniquely exemplifying the American constitutional tradition. We should be aware of the 50 state constitutions, often interestingly different--and perhaps better--than the national model. Many states have updated their constitutions by frequent amendment or by complete replacement via state constitutional conventions. California's ungovernable condition has prompted serious calls for a constitutional convention. This constant churn indicates that basic law often reaches the point where it fails and becomes obsolete. Given the experience of so many states, he writes, surely it is reasonable to believe that the U.S. Constitution merits its own updating.English text. Condition : as new. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : as new. ISBN 9780199890750.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #242448
€  12.50 [Appr.: US$ 13.29 | £UK 10.75 | JP¥ 2049]

 
Long, Michael G.
Marshalling Justice: The Early Civil Rights Letters of Thurgood Marshall.
New York : Amistad, 2011. Hardcover. Dustjacket. 448 pp.- Collected together for the first time in Marshalling Justice, here are selected letters written by one of the most influential and important activists in the American Civil Rights movement: the brilliant legal mind and footsoldier for justice and racial equality, Thurgood Marshall. The correspondences of a rebellious young attorney with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Marshalling Justice paints an eye-opening portrait of Thurgood Marshall before he became the first African American to serve on the U.S. Supreme Court, during his years as a groundbreaking and vibrant Civil Rights activist in the tradition of Martin Luther King and Julian Bond.English text. Condition : as new. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : as new. ISBN 9780061985188.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #73387
€  12.50 [Appr.: US$ 13.29 | £UK 10.75 | JP¥ 2049]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Lovell, George I.
Legislative deferrals : statutory ambiguity, judicial power, and American democracy.
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2003. Hardcover. Dustjacket. xxi,290 pp. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. Contents : Rethinking judicial policy making in a separation of powers system -- False victories: labor, Congress, and the courts, 1898-1935 -- As harmless as an infant: the Erdman Act in Congress and the courts -- Killing with kindness: legislative ambiguity, judicial policy making, and the Clayton Act -- The Norris-LaGuardia Act, for once: learning what to learn from the past -- Legislative deferrals and judicial policy making in the administrative state: a brief look at the Wagner Act. ISBN 9780521824156.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #114030
€  15.00 [Appr.: US$ 15.94 | £UK 13 | JP¥ 2459]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Maltese, John Anthony.
The selling of Supreme Court nominees.
Baltimore : The Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995. Hardcover. Dustjacket. xiii,193 pp. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : as new. - Politics has always been at the heart of the Supreme Court selection process. According to John Anthony Maltese, the first Borking of a nominee came in 1795 with the defeat of John Rutledge's nomination as chief justice. What is different about today's appointment process, he argues, is not its politicization but the range of players involved and the political techniques that they use. In The Selling of Supreme Court Nominees, Maltese traces the evolution of the contentious and controversial confirmation process awaiting today's nominees to the nation's highest court. In this paperback edition, he includes a discussion of the recent nomination of Stephen Breyer, addressing various reform proposals made by critics of the current process and crediting President Clinton's protracted selection process with restoring some decorum to the proceedings. ISBN 9780801851025.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #277278
€  12.50 [Appr.: US$ 13.29 | £UK 10.75 | JP¥ 2049]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Maltz, Earl M.
Civil Rights, the Constitution, and Congress, 1863-1869.
Kansas : University Press of Kansas, 1990. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. xiv,198 pp. Index. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : as new. ISBN 9780700504671.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #50166
€  13.50 [Appr.: US$ 14.35 | £UK 11.75 | JP¥ 2213]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Manning, Bayless.
Federal conflict of interest law.
Cambridge: Harvard University Press,1964. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. xviii,285 pp. Index. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #57968
€  12.50 [Appr.: US$ 13.29 | £UK 10.75 | JP¥ 2049]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
McNaron, Toni A.H.
Poisoned Ivy. Lesbian and Gay Academics Confronting Homophobia.
Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1997. Paperback. xiv. 234 pp. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. ISBN 9781566394888.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #136365
€  12.50 [Appr.: US$ 13.29 | £UK 10.75 | JP¥ 2049]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Mendelson, Wallace (ed.)
Felix Frankfurter : a tribute,
New York : Reynal & Company , 1964. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. viii,242 pp. 22 cm. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #175312
€  13.50 [Appr.: US$ 14.35 | £UK 11.75 | JP¥ 2213]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Meulen, Johanna van der.
The seat of authority : a comparative analysis of the relations between the legislative power and the executive power in the British constitutional system and in the American Federal Constitution.
Leiden,1945. Paperback. 231p. Index. English text. Proefschrift Rijksuniversiteit Leiden. Stempel. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #36316
€  13.50 [Appr.: US$ 14.35 | £UK 11.75 | JP¥ 2213]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Miller, William Lee.
The business of May next : James Madison and the Founding.
Charlottesville, VA : University Press of Virginia , 1992. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. xii,296 pp. 23 cm. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. ISBN 9780813913681.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #87569
€  15.00 [Appr.: US$ 15.94 | £UK 13 | JP¥ 2459]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Neely, Mark E.
Southern Rights. Political prisoners and the myth of Confederate Constitutionalism.
Charlottesville : University Press of Virginia,1999. Orig. cloth binding. Dustjacket. viii,212 pp. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : very good. ISBN 9780813918945.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #152997
€  13.50 [Appr.: US$ 14.35 | £UK 11.75 | JP¥ 2213]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

 
Nelson, William Edward.
The legalist reformation : law, politics, and ideology in New York, 1920-1980.
Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2001. Hardcover. Dustjacket. ix,457 pp. (Studies in legal history). As new. Mailorder only - Alleen verzending mogelijk. Book condition : as new. Contents : 1922 -- The conservative agenda -- The reform agenda -- Conservatives versus reformer -- 1938 -- Gradual assimilation as a constitutional mechanism for ending inequality -- Gradual assimilation as an economic mechanism for ending inequality -- The prevention of injury -- Liberty and sexuality -- Liberty and the family -- The growth of distrust -- 1968 -- Gender equity -- Equality for underdogs -- Bureaucracy --Enterprise and efficiency. ISBN 9780807825914.
Kloof Booksellers & Scientia VerlagProfessional seller
Book number: #247252
€  12.50 [Appr.: US$ 13.29 | £UK 10.75 | JP¥ 2049]
Keywords: RECHT, Constitutional law, America

Previous page | Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | - Next page